Lakeland Auto Driving School proudly serves the Lakeland, Florida area by even providing road test simulations.
LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE: It's very easy and simple. You only need to follow these steps:
STEP ONE: You must take the D.A.T.E. or T.L.S.A.E. 4 hour class; also called Drug, Alcohol & TRAFFIC EDUCATION, this certificate that we will give you, upon the completion of this 4 hour class, is mandatory by the State of Florida before you may obtain a restricted or regular driver's permit license. D.A.T.E. or T.L.S.A.E. classes are given at this school every other Saturday from 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm and the cost is $30.00. Call for appointment. See requirements at the bottom of this page.
STEP TWO: After you take our 4 hour class, you must take the certificate that you will provide to the Motor Vehicle Registration Office, located at 3249 Lakeland Hills Blvd., Lakeland, FL., and pass the written test on Florida Laws. The cost of the license is $48.00. You may make the check payable to State of Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. A parent or guardian must be present with anyone under 18 years of age. You must obtain a FL Drivers' Handbook at the Dept. of Motor Vehicles or from our office.
STEP THREE: You must learn how to drive on your own and pass THE ROAD TEST at the Florida Highway Test Station or you can take any of the many courses we offer. The Road Test usually requires two hours to complete. This includes actual driving, going through the required maneuvers with testing officer and completion of paperwork involved to obtain the license.
If we can further assist you in any way, please feel free to contact us at (863) 647-1357 from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.
Our school has been serving Polk County since 1962 and enjoys the reputation of dependable and courteous service with well trained State Certified Instructors.
Call for appointments
DRIVING BEHIND THE WHEEL:
Our behind-the-wheel instruction is done in a State Certified car installed with a dual control brake system. We schedule these classes around your schedule. We will pick you up and drop you off at home, work, or school for all the classes. We recommend no more than 2 hours per day. Our office schedules the driving test with the Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.). When the student is ready for the Road Test, our Instructor will take them for the test. We also offer NIGHT driving on the Highway. In addition, we offer special arrangements for College students.
1 lesson (2hrs)
2 lessons (4hrs)
3 lessons (6hrs)
4 lessons (8hrs)
5 lessons (10hrs)
1 lesson (2hrs) + Road Test (R/T)
2 lessons (4hrs) + R/T
3 lessons (6hrs) + R/T
4 lessons (8hrs) + R/T
For B.D.I. (Tickets) - See requirements at the bottom of this page.
For B.D.I. (For Tickets) - Requirements 4-Hour Ticket Class:
- Satisfy a court order
- Receive a reduction in violation points or insurance discount
- TCAC (Traffic Collision Avoidance Course)
Saturday 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM - Address: 4406 South Florida Ave, Suite #20, Lakeland, FL 33813
For D.A.T.E. (First Time Driver) - Requirements 4-Hour New Driver Class:
- Required by Florida state law for all first time drivers desiring to obtain a learner's drivers license.
- The program covers state laws, the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving and techniques for avoiding crashes.
Saturday 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
For classroom courses, we accept checks, cash, money orders and cashier's checks.
For Behind-The-Wheel courses, we only accept checks, cash and money orders. Other types of payment include traveler's checks and credit and debit cards.